Shanghai Impetus

Sunrise Shanghai from the Waterhouse

I arrived in Shanghai from Beijing just in time to watch the sunrise over the Huangpu River. I stayed in South Bund, a part of Shanghai undergoing a massive change. In the time I was in Shanghai, new bars and shops opened along the waterfront and old warehouses were demolished to make way for trendy apartments.

South Bund looking South
The Waterhouse on the Right
Waterhouse roof top herb garden

I enjoyed the skyline at night from the rooftop of the Waterhouse (Hotel) as I watched the Sous Chef cut fresh herbs for my Thai Chicken Noodles. I was in Shanghai for two reasons; to visit the Shanghai Museum’s Collection and to drop in on Urban Art Project’s (UAP’s) Shanghai Office.

UAP were one of the referees for Round 1 of my Winston Churchill Fellowship Application. I worked for Urban Art Projects in 1999 for 18 months and have maintained an ongoing relationship with the UAP family ever since. I arrived in time for lunch, a daily ritual where everyone stops, takes a break and enjoys a shared meal.

UAP Family Shanghai

Principal, Matthew Tobin, heads up the Shanghai Office and I spoke with him and Elisha Whitchurch (Lead Designer) about UAP’s move to China, current projects and my own experiences to date on my fellowship trip. It was great to see them again and visit their relaxed creative office hub!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

